A spot of bad-mouthing

I recognize no divinities
but Light
and the Earth that bore me –
They are father and mother
if your peabrain runs
to anthropomorphisms

and should I meet in some great by and by
a jealous bastard who lives in the sky
I’ll give him what for – then spit in his eye!
[This I do so solemnly promise]

and while we’re at it, I want the word
propitiation
struck from the language

turning away wrath
with offerings
[…of other creatures’ bodies
burning like as not…]
if that’s your soteriology
well, it’s not so hot
and how the fuck
would that put a creator
in a good mood anyway?

What kind of Father’s heart
is softened by the sight
of his son being tortured
and cruelly murdered ?
If the afterlife
is run by the mafia
I’ll give it a pass.

People who buy into this shit
are scared shitless of death
or have less common sense
than witless sheep.

Some vengeful, wrathful
mysogynous homophobic
creep won’t get my vote
for president
of the universe

and beyond proping up
short legs on sofas
some fat old tomes
are of little use
in the real world…
no matter what language
they are scribbled in.

Save me from all
hoary drivel.
Amen.

.

.

Leave a Reply

