Thank Goodness

Thank Goodness. . .
for goodness there is –
ample and abundant –
even in monkeys, so I hear
Be of good cheer, my friend;
fear not the tax man nor the grave
and as for glum Jack-in-the-box,
[neighbourhood pulpit knave]
leave him to his byzantine raving
[as for my saving, that is
strictly my business, chum]
Oh, don’t think me ungrateful
for my health and such good fortune
as to live and breathe; I do
regularly thank whatever gods there be
[please note: in sweet conditional]
‘though I see not a hair of one
to hold a snub of candle
to the great and glorious sun

.

.

Leave a Reply

