non-aggression pact?

Not resist evil ?
Jesus, that is a hard one!
But I’ll go this far, my good man
I shall try not to resist evil
by any evil means 
I will not slander, cheat
lie in retaliation.
Given the chance,
I will not oppress
I will not smite
[nor kick or smack or bite]
etcetera

However, while I’d rather
retire to my cave
than turn the other cheek
[ I’m just not born that brave
to be that kind of meek ]
I will resist evil
by any other means
at my disposal –
a life lived in example
[ I’ll try to make it love]
and a tongue few would wish
to be on the wrong side of

.

.
Christianity Not as a Mystic Religion But as a New Theory of Life
is the subtitle of Tolstoy’s The Kingdom of God is Within you.
…I don’t invent the stuff; I just pass it along

.

.

Leave a Reply

