I will not make of death a fear-marrowed sequel to Jaws

I am older now than those who were sure
I’d change my mind when I grew old.
Now a foot in the grave [not especially brave]
those fairytale afterlives still leave me cold!

Not a model of poise – I do make joyful noise
daily…. as night shrinks in power.
One day sun will die and, of course, so will I
so I do try to celebrate each sunlit hour

My heart truly leaps up…delight fills my teacup –
life and the cosmos fill me with awe.
I need no deities [except maybe birch trees]
the empirical strikes me as having no flaw

Let them grovel and pray [they were brought up that way]
dreaming of Paradise – a sop for the proles.
Parents pass on the lie [pitchforks terrify]
obey mom or your soul might get roasted on coals!

Only a sap would believe in such crap –
but they see no way clear to dispell long-held fear
since mom was the one who passed the lies on
and she is the person we each hold most dear
.

.

hints of Wordsworth and The Book of Psalms.  Should I have added more? I would rather leave you to do the summing up.

.

. .

Leave a Reply

